Yahoo Personals Phishing scam?

by David Evans on December 8, 2005 in Dating Safety

I received an email from Yahoo Personals which says that changing your profile nicname to your given name will make other members “more likely to contact you, reply to you and want to meet you.”

I had to look at the raw source of the email to make sure it wasn’t a phishing scam. The email comes from yahoo-email.com, not yahoo.com. The jury is out about this.

After that unsettling experience, my profile provided a link to a personality test, which I had already taken. The test is titled “Yahoo Personals Premiere, but I’m not a premiere member. Sloppy oversight.

Anybody at Yahoo Personals care to clear the air? Is this a scam or not?

Update: Rochelle at Yahoo tells me it is not a scam. “You can see the new field from the profile page (look at anyone’s profile) under the “About Meâ€? section–it’s just another optional information field in the profile. ”

[tags: , yahoo personals]

Be Sociable, Share!

No related posts.

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

James J. December 9, 2005 at 5:25 pm

The best way to tell if the email is a scam is not to look at where it was sent from, but at what site it is telling you to go to make the change. If it’s not personals.yahoo.com it’s probably a scam. However, it sounds like it might be about the new “First Name” feature Yahoo just implemented.

Reply

Ben December 9, 2005 at 6:58 pm

I think that it is legitimate. Every piece of email that I’ve ever received from Yahoo Personals has come from the “yahoo-email.com” domain.

Unfortunately, all of the links in their email are URLs to the same “yahoo-email.com” domain, making it appear more scam-ish. Not only that, each URL is cookie-tracked, allowing them to know exactly who has viewed which links– a technique frequently used by spammers/scammers.

The “First Name” feature simply allows users to add their first name as just another piece of profile information. It doesn’t replace the username.

Reply

Cqrol December 11, 2005 at 5:19 am

I typed my name in that Yahoo personal dating web site.. and I must tell you that I got an email from an organization called LoveHappens. I was not too careful and some how, I allowed this advertizment for having friends help you find a partner be sent to everyone who was on my email addresses. That is over 703 people. Now, I’ve had at least five men from days gone by, contact me, men I had decided to say good bye to. I’ve had girl friends write me, after many years had gone by. I was embarrassed to find out that all of my students, techers, bosses got this email advertizing that “Carol” could use your help in getting love. Yikes! My sister got the email, and lost friends over this. She thinks it is a virus of some kind. She was told by a computer technician not to do business with yahoo any more. The LoveHappens organization is in San Francisco, Ca. I have not been too happy with all of this.

Reply

mim June 30, 2010 at 5:01 am

Please tell me,

How long do I have to tolerate all the following bulshit supposed to be originated from Yahoo? Isn’t there anybody responsible to bring those people to Court, for trying to deceiving me into revealing my password which should then be used against my will and without my knowledge to all my contacts for illegal purposes?

…………………………..
…………………….

Final Warning!!!
From: Yahoo Customer Service Add to Contacts
To:

——————————————————————————–

We are really sorry for any inconvinience this might cause you. Due to the congestion in all Yahoo! account users, Yahoo! will be shuting down all unused accounts. In order to avoid the deactivation of your account, you will have to confirm your e-mail by filling your Login Info below by clicking the reply button.

Full name: …………………………………..

Username: …………………………………..
Password: …………………………………..
Date Of Birth: ……………………………….
Occupation: …………………………………
Country Of Residence: ……………………

After you must have followed the instructions on the sheet, your Yahoo! account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thank you for your usual co-operation. We apologize for any inconvinience.

Yahoo! Customer Care
Case number: 2641930
Property: Account Security

Regards,
Yahoo! Account Services
————————-
We are really sorry for any inconvinience this might cause you.

WHY THESE BASTARDS ARE NOT AFRAID OF ANYTHING? WHO GIVES THEM THE ASSURANCE THAT YAHOO WILL NEVER TAKE LEGAL MEASURES AGAINST THEM? WHY THIS CONTINUES EVERY YEAR?

Reply

Steven S May 8, 2012 at 7:36 am

I’ve been trying out some different websites and the following ones should be avoided at all costs. They spam you with at least 5 e-mails a day from potential matches that “sent you an e-mail” (that you can’t read unless you subscribe) or winked at you. Most of them were from waaay out of state and some were even out of country. So I subscribed to read the e-mail(s) and all it amounted to was a statement in that persons profile or a generic statement that didn’t indicate any interest in you personally. And if you responded to the e-mails (which I did to several) you get no response or another generic statement.

Save yourself some money and time and don’t even bother.

http://www.weekend-dating.com & http://www.hornywhisper.com

Haven’t tried Yahoo Personals but from what I’ve read here I wont!!!

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: